WPL manager of the year shortlist announced

The four contenders for the Welsh Premier League manager of the year awards have been announced. 

Craig Harrison, Andy Morrison, Colin Caton and Huw Griffiths are all up for the award after vital successes at their respective clubs.

Last year’s winner Craig Harrison has a chance to retain the award, having took TNS to a league double and world record of 27 consecutive victories, a feat which beat Ajax’s run of 26 games. TNS looked set for a third consecutive treble, only to be pipped to the JD Welsh Cup by Bala in the final.

Andy Morrison is up for the award having taken Connah’s Quay Nomads to second place and two domestic semi finals. Despite a number of injuries which almost wiped out the club’s defence, Morrison oversaw Connah’s Quay finish the campaign with the best defensive record in the league.

A fan favourite for this year’s award will be Colin Caton, who once again has took Bala Town FC to Europe – but this season their biggest achievement was coming from behind in the Welsh Cup final against TNS to win the competiton for the first time.

The only bottom six representative is Huw Griffiths, who kept Cefn Druids in the Welsh Premier with a dramatic phase two turnaround.

The winner will be announced at the official Welsh Premier League end of season awards on Saturday 20 May.

Featured Image: NCM Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.