Wales manager Jayne Ludlow pens new contract as she announces squad for England

Wales manager Jayne Ludlow has announced her squad for Wales’ final World Cup qualifier with England.

The former Arsenal defender also announced that she has signed a four-year contract to carry on with the Welsh national team.

The Dragons play at Rodney Parade at the end of the month, knowing a win would secure qualification for the countries first ever World Cup.

Laura O’Sullivan, Sophie Ingle, Rhiannon Roberts, Gemma Evans and Kayleigh Green have all made summer moves, with Ingle, Roberts, Evans and Green all moving around the Women’s Super League.

O’Sullivan has moved to third tier Cardiff City Ladies, where she began her career, whilst Liverpool captain Sophie Ingle has moved to Chelsea, also returning to a previous club.

Rhiannon Roberts moved from Doncaster Rovers Belles to Liverpool, whilst Gemma Evans moves from Yeovil Town Ladies to Bristol City Women, linking up with Loren Dykes who confirmed she was staying with the Vixens.

Cardiff Bay, Wales. 9th August, 2018. Jayne Ludlow announces her Welsh squad at the National Eisteddfod for the upcoming FIFA Women’s World Cup Qualifier against England. Lewis Mitchell/YCPD.

There’s a place for Ffion Morgan and Peyton Vincze who return to the Wales squad having recovered from long-term injuries.

Hayley Ladd of Birmingham City, Gemma Evans and Loren Dykes of Bristol City Women, Natasha Harding of Reading Rhiannon Roberts of Liverpool could all be involved in the FA Continental Tyres Cup matches over the space of the next two weeks.

“We are, there’s one player missing, Charlie Estcourt, big miss missing.

READ  Wales 0-0 Czech Republic: Dykes century of appearances ends in stalemate

Everybody else is fit and healthy, hopefully, that stays the way for the next three weeks.”


Claire Skinner – Cardiff City Women

Olivia Clarke – Nettleham

Laura O’Sullivan – Cardiff City Ladies


Loren Dykes – Bristol City

Sophie Ingle – Chelsea

Alice Alice Griffiths – CPD Merched Caerdydd

Rhiannon Roberts – Liverpool

Rachel Rowe – Reading

Gemma Evans – Bristol City

Elise Hughes – Everton


Jess Fishlock – Seattle Reign

Hayley Ladd – Birmingham City

Angharad James – Everton

Nadia Lawrence – Merchedd Caerdydd

Natasha Harding – Reading

Ffion Morgan – CPD Merchedd Caerdydd


Helen Ward – Watford

Kylie Nolan – CPD Merched Caerdydd

Peyton Vincze – Oklahoma

Kayleigh Green – Brighton

(Featured Image: Lewis Mitchell)

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.