University of South Wales claim BUCS National title

A side containing mostly Welsh League and Welsh Premier League players has won the BUCS National trophy.

The University of South Wales beat Hartpury at Basford United’s Greenwich Avenue in stoppage time to claim the ultimate prize in University football.

USW had already gone unbeaten in the BUCS Premier South Division which had participants from the Welsh pyramid system in Cardiff Metropolitan and Swansea University.

Speaking to ExpoSport, manager Lee Kendall said: “I’m delighted. I’m delighted for my players, my staff and my boss (Steve Savage).”

“We’ve worked really hard this year. It’s been a tough year, we’ve changed our programme, the boys have been in first thing in the morning three days a week.

Welsh Premier League regular Ashley Morris who plays his club football for Bala Town was in goal for USW, who are co-managed by Pontypridd Town boss Lee Kendall. 

Cambrian & Clydach Vale defender Joe Evans scored a 126th-minute winner after Hartpury had seen their goal ruled out due to a foul on Ashley Morris.

Cambrian & Clydach Vale had four representatives. Cameron Keetch, Captain David Thomas, goalscorer Joe Evans and Liam Edwards all played. Patrick Rysgaard was an unused substitute.

Recent Pontypridd recruit Lewis Baldwin also played, whilst Penybont’s Kane Owen was also in defence.

Barry Town United duo Clayton Green and Louis Gerrard played, whilst Llanelli loanee Mikey George also played.

The only non-Welsh domestic-based player was Miles John, who plays for Southern League side Merthyr Town.

USW beat two-time winners Cardiff Metropolitan in the previous round to progress to the final in Nottingham.

READ  RECAP: Europa League Preliminary Round - 2018/2019 draw

Cardiff Metropolitan were last years winners of the competition. 

(Featured Image: Callum Ellis)

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.