Caerau Ely earn promotion to FAW Championship South

Caerau Ely have been promoted to the FAW Championship South after beating Abergavenny Town today.

The Young Guns have bounced back at the first attempt after being relegated from Division One last season. 

Needing a victory over promotion rivals Abergavenny Town and defeats for Aberbargoed Buds and Pontardawe Town, Caerau swept aside the opposition at Cwrt-yr-Ala Road.

Curtis Methven put Abergavenny in front but after Jac Evans was sent off after Ely’s equalising goal from the spot, Craig Sampson’s side strolled to victory. 

Aberbargoed Buds who didn’t apply for promotion but could have finished third, lost to STM Sports who today won the Division Two title. 

Pontardawe Town who were awarded the licence, lost at home to Dinas Powys. 

The news of the result at Parc Ynysderwn travelled to Cwrt-yr-Ala, where Caerau could celebrate their promotion at the full-time whistle. 

Messages of congratulations flooded in, including one from their former manager Nana Baah, who won the Division One title in 2015.

(Featured Image: Will Cheshire)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.