Jones, Routledge and Oswell nominated for Player of Year award

The Welsh Premier League has announced its three-man shortlist for Player of the Year, with the winner set to be announced at the upcoming awards ceremony on May 20.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, Golden boot winner Jason Oswell is one of the players named, having hit 22 goals to help Newtown to the Europa League play-offs.

The 24-year-old, who has also provided five assists for his team, has scored a total of 51 goals in 91 appearances for the Robins, and is likely to attract plenty of interest over the summer.

Bangor City’s Henry Jones is also on the shortlist, despite also being in the running for Young Player of the Year.

Nevertheless, few can deny that the former Swansea City youngster has enjoyed a notable first season in the WPL since joining the Citizens in August last year.

With 14 goals in all competitions, the attacking midfielder has made a vital contribution for his side, helping them to a Europa League play-off final against Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Jon Routledge of TNS completes the top three, following an impressive campaign for the champions.

The Merseysider has made 29 appearances for Craig Harrison’s men, scoring four goals, and has proved a vital presence in the heart of the Saints midfield, providing a key link between attack and defence.

(Featured Image: Graham Haines)

One thought on “Jones, Routledge and Oswell nominated for Player of Year award”

  1. Pingback:
  2. Trackback:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.