Fifty-two teams apply for Tier Two licence

Fifty-two teams in North and South Wales have applied for a Tier Two licence for the first ever FAW Championship.

Next season, the Football Association of Wales will take charge of the second tier of Welsh football, with a rebrand taking place from the current Huws Gray Alliance and Welsh Football League.

All 32 teams playing in the second tier have applied for the Tier Two licence by the 31st December Deadline.

20 clubs applied from the third tier of Welsh football, with applications from the Welsh Alliance League, Welsh National League, Mid Wales League and the Welsh Football League.

There are five applicants from the Mid Wales League, three from the Welsh National League and two from one from the Welsh Alliance League.

Nine teams from South Wales have applied for the Tier Two licence. Last season, 43 teams from across Wales successfully applied for the Tier Two licence.

FAW Club Licensing manager Steven Jones said to “ “It was very pleasing to have 43 clubs achieve Tier 2 certification at the end of the last cycle. This was not an easy feat and was down to the hard work and dedication of the clubs”.

“In addition to infrastructure, the FAW have introduced additional Tier 2 criteria relating to personnel at clubs which will aid in increasing standards even further”.

“I look forward to working closely with all Applicants over the coming month.”

The full list of clubs who have applied

Huws Gray Alliance League

  • Airbus UK Broughton
  • Bangor City
  • Buckley Town
  • Conwy Borough
  • Denbigh Town
  • Flint Town United
  • Gresford Athletic
  • Guilsfield
  • Holyhead Hotspur
  • Holywell Town
  • Llanrhaeader
  • Penrhyncoch
  • Porthmadog
  • Prestatyn Town
  • Rhyl
  • Ruthin Town
READ  Former New Saints forward Quigley joins Football League side Port Vale on loan

Welsh Football League (Division 1)

  • Afan Lido
  • Ammanford Town
  • Briton Ferry
  • Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGC
  • Cwmamman United
  • Cwmbran Celtic
  • Goytre
  • Goytre United
  • Haverfordwest County
  • Llantwit Major
  • Penybont
  • Pontypridd Town
  • Port Talbot Town
  • Taffs Well
  • Ton Pentre
  • Undy Athletic

North Wales
• Llangefni Town (Welsh Alliance League)

  • Brickfield Rangers (Welsh National League)
  • Brymbo (Welsh National League)
  • Chirk AAA (Welsh National League)
  • Corwen (Welsh National League)
  • Mold Alexandra (Welsh National League)
  • Berriew (Mid Wales League)
  • Caersws (Mid Wales League)
  • Llandrindod Wells (Mid Wales League)
  • Llanfair United (Mid Wales League)
  • Llanidloes Town (Mid Wales League)

South Wales

  • Abergavenny Town (Welsh Football League)
  • Caerau Ely (Welsh Football League)
  • Caldicot Town (Welsh Football League)
  • Croesyceiliog (Welsh Football League)
  • Monmouth Town (Welsh Football League)
  • Pontardawe Town (Welsh Football League)
  • Risca United (Welsh Football League)
  • Swansea University (Welsh Football League)
  • STM Sports (Welsh Football League)

    (Featured Image: Will Cheshire)

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.