Cefn Albion and Pontardawe Town to contest FAW Trophy Final

Cefn Albion and Pontardawe Town will meet next month in the FAW Trophy Final after both sides progressed in the semi-final double-header today.

Welsh National League side Cefn Albion beat STM Sports 3-1 in Extra-Time to reach the final in the early kickoff.

Josh Graham provided STM Sports in the 60th minute before Oliver Davies levelled from 12-yards out

Three minutes from time, Jordan Jones was sent off, leaving Albion a man light as they went into extra-time.

Conner Kendrick and Zack Davies though scored for the Wrexham based side to secure a first-ever FAW Trophy Final for the North Walian side.

In the later kickoff, Welsh League outfit Pontardawe Town ensured there would be a South Walian representative as they comfortably saw off Bodedern Athletic.

They were helped by the dismissal of goalkeeper Jordan Taylor, who pulled the shirt of a Pontardawe player.

Tom Blizzard successfully scored his penalty, before doubling his and Pontardawe’s tally in the first half.

Paul Lewis’ side strolled to victory in the second half as Kurtis Rees scored a brace.  Liam Griffiths topped off a five-star performance from Pontardawe with their fifth of the afternoon.

It’s either a return to Newtown’s Latham Park or a trip to Aberystwyth Town’s Park Avenue, according to Dave Jones’ North Wales Sports Blog.

(Featured Image: Will Cheshire)

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.