Harrison, Oswell and Jones big winners at WPL Awards

The 25th Welsh Premier League awards ceremony and annual general meeting has taken place in Newport this evening. 

The annual event serves as the official closing ceremony for the season and brings officials from all clubs together for the league’s AGM. Major end of season awards including manager of the season, player of the season and young player of the season were announced.

Scooping manager of the year for the third consecutive time was TNS manager Craig Harrison, who guided TNS to a league and league cup double and a world record run of 27 consecutive victories, which beat Ajax’s previous record of 26 games, attracting media attention worldwide.

Player of the season went to Newtown’s AFC Jason Oswell, who enjoyed an outstanding season upfront for the Robins, scoring 22 goals to reach the play-offs before cutting his season short due to scheduled charity and degree placement work in Uganda.

Winning young player of the season was Henry Jones, who helped set Bangor City alight as the club finished fourth and successfully reached Europe via the play offs.

Other awards included goal of the year, which went to Llandudno’s Danny Hughes for his stunning effort at Aberystwyth Town, whilst photo of the year, pictured above, went to Bala Town photographer Naomi Fflur.

The ceremony attracted some of Welsh football’s biggest names with Wales manager Chris Coleman and ex-Bangor City, Sheffield United and Southampton manager Nigel Adkins in attendance.

READ  LIVE: Cardiff Metropolitan University v Llandudno FC

Major points from the annual general meeting included the introduction of an online ticketing system for all clubs, plans to assist club infrastructure and on going work to secure a new official league sponsor for the 2017/18 campaign.

The Nathaniel MG Cars Cup first round draw was also made at the meeting, with all fixtures taking place on August 29/30.

  • Bangor v Denbigh
  • Llandudno v Caernarfon
  • Porthmadog v Holyhead
  • Pontypridd v Taffs Well
  • Airbus v Cefn Druids
  • Holywell v Prestatyn
  • Rhyl v Flint Town
  • Haverfordwest v Goytre United
  • Afan Lido v Penybont
  • Bala v Newtown
  • Caersws v Aberystwyth
  • Goytre v Cardiff Met

Featured Image: Naomi Fflur / Bala Town FC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.