Revealed | Fans Choice: Welsh Football League Division Two – Team of the Season 2017/2018

It started off as a three-way battle for the Division One title, but in the end, Llanelli Town’s return to the Welsh Premier League was complete.

Andy Hill who lead the Reds to a League and Cup double last season masterminded a second consecutive promotion for Llanelli.

Haverfordwest County and Penybont were the closest to the Reds, with both also applying for promotion to the Welsh top flight.

Cwmbran Celtic’s Chris Ham was named Y Clwb Pel-Droed’s Welsh Football League Division One ‘Player of the Season’ last week but surprisingly misses out on the public vote.

The team is made up predominantly of Llanelli players for their title success, winning the league by a total of fifteen points.

This is a vote done by the readers of Y Clwb Pel-Droed who voted on our article last week. This is an unofficial vote, not one of the Welsh Football League.

Goalkeeper: Craig Morris (Llanelli Town)

Right-Back: Jordan Vickers (Cwmamman United and Llanelli Town)

Vickers spent a majority of the season with Cwmamman United, in their battle down at the bottom of Division One. However, in March he moved to Steboneath Park, to help them in the battle at the top. He has since moved on from the Reds, signing for Welsh Premier League side Carmarthen Town.

Centre-back: Sean Pemberton (Haverfordwest County)

Pemberton is one of only three non Llanelli players to be included in the team. Pemberton was included last season and has been part of a solid foundation of the Bluebirds defence.

Centre-back: Lee Bevan (Llanelli Town)

Bevan has given the Reds the aerial presence in both boxes this season. He has chipped in on a number of occasions

READ  Does marquee signing of Kaid Mohamed provide added pressure on Haverfordwest to achieve promotion?

LB: Kane Owen (Penybont)

Owen is named in the Division One ‘Team of the Season’ for a second year running, for his performances for Penybont. The former Cardiff City youngster has a powerful free-kick trait and can both defend and attack.

CM: Jordan Davies (Llanelli Town)

CM: Joe Clarke (Llanelli Town)
Clarke captained the Reds to their promotion and was instrumental to their success this season. He has operated in the number ten role, chipping in a number of occasions.

LM: James Loveridge (Llanelli Town)

The former Swansea City youngster has been influential on the flank and up front this season. He has been the difference a number of times, enjoying a partnership with Lee Trundle.

RM: Jordan Follows (Llanelli Town)

Follows has remained with Llanelli after their demotion to Division Three, as well as playing out in Iceland. His experiences in Iceland have upped his performances for Llanelli this campaign.

ST: Lee Trundle (Llanelli Town)

The well-known forward joined Llanelli Town last season and was prolific in front of goal for the Reds last season, scoring 45 league goals in 23 appearances. This campaign, he’s scored 23 goals in 22 appearances for Andy Hill’s side. He has remained in the Welsh Football League, by signing for Llanelli’s promotion rivals Haverfordwest County.

ST: Mark Jones (Afan Lido)
Despite leaving the club in January, Mark Jones scored an impressive 21 league goals for the Lido, as he joined Welsh Premier League side Carmarthen Town. He was then called up to the Wales C team, where he scored from the substitutes bench. He has since joined Llanelli Town, for their upcoming season.

READ  Barry Town United 11-0 Risca United: Five-star Barry hit Risca for 11 at Jenner Park

(Featured Image: Lewis Mitchell)

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.